Arlington Honors Grassroots COVID-19 Heroes – Official Arlington County Virginia Government Site

Posted on January 26, 2022

The Arlington County Board honored the recipients of the Arlington COVID-19 Heroes Award at its recessed board meeting on January 25, 2022. The community-nominated awards celebrate Arlington residents, community groups and businesses that are having a significant impact in combating the effects of the pandemic.

“Thank you to our COVID heroes for choosing to serve. Despite all the challenges, you chose Arlington – sometimes, even above your own health and safety,” noted County Board Chair Katie Cristol. “Your community is grateful for your humanity and selfless dedication.”

The county received 161 nominations from people who live, work or spend significant time in Arlington, with 78 winners selected.

“The unsung heroes of COVID-19 honored are outstanding examples of service, sacrifice and community,” said Dr. Aaron Miller, director of the Department of Public Safety and Emergency Management Communications. “They are continually advancing efforts to help others through the pandemic.”

The following individuals, businesses and community groups were honored:

Community Resilience Award
Recognizing those who support residents disproportionately affected by the pandemic.

  • Antonio Solis De Paz
  • david guas
  • David Keppner
  • Gabriela Uro
  • Janeth Valenzuela
  • Lee HarperChen
  • Rosa Dunkley
  • Rosalia Fajardo
  • Sue Mosher
  • Taishay Jones

Outstanding Individual Service Award
Recognize people who have supported others through the difficulties of the pandemic.

  • Alana McBride
  • André Schneider
  • Angeline Barnes
  • Anne Weber
  • Anne Vor der Bruegge
  • Bob Risney
  • Carlos Velázquez
  • Chanda Choun
  • Cherie Harris
  • Christina Headrick
  • Chris Myers
  • Deborah Hartman
  • Debra Kirzner
  • Denis Shannon
  • Frank Mirak
  • Jennifer Toussaint
  • Jill Jacobs
  • Julia Young
  • Garrisons
  • Mariflor Ventura
  • Martha Casey
  • Martin Suydam
  • Melody Kisor
  • Michael Silverman
  • Mindy Klasky
  • Myra Ragan
  • Nathalie Roy
  • Nidhi Reva
  • Paul Showalter
  • Ruben Varghese
  • Susan Thompson Gaines
  • Vanessa Fulton
  • Will Le

Outstanding Community Service Award (Businesses and Community Groups)
Recognize businesses, groups and organizations that have supported the community through the difficulties of the pandemic.

  • AHC Resident Services
  • Employees and managers of APS school catering
  • Arlington CERTs
  • Arlington County Public Health
  • Arlington County Parks and Recreation – Youth and Family Programs
  • Arlington Democrats Latino Caucus
  • Arlington Food Assistance Center (AFAC)
  • Arlington Free Clinic
  • Arlington Neighborhood Village
  • Arlington Partnership for Affordable Housing (APAH)
  • Columbia Pike Revitalization Organization (CPRO)
  • Comprehensive Vaccination Committee (CVC)
  • Culpepper Gardens
  • ENDependence Center of Northern Virginia
  • Freddie’s Beach Bar
  • Good company donuts and coffee
  • Harris Teeter Express Lane Team at Lee Harrison
  • Kenmore Wednesday Parent Group
  • Baptist Church of Macedonia
  • Supermarket Mega Mart
  • Million Mask Challenge
  • Neighborhood Health
  • Our Lady Queen of Peace Catholic Church
  • PathForward (formerly A-SPAN)
  • Regional committee – Prevention of evictions and community stability
  • Safeway Pharmacy
  • Samuel Beckett’s Irish Gastro Pub
  • Sloppy Mama’s BBQ
  • Sprout Vegetable Gardens
  • Virginia Medical Reserve Corps
  • Wesley Housing

Watch the full presentation of the COVID Heroes Awards