Odds for the 2022 Kentucky Derby

The 148th running of the Kentucky Derby will take place Saturday at Churchill Downs in Louisville, Kentucky.

Zandon, starting from position 10, opened as the 3-1 morning line favorite after Derby’s positions were released on Monday, followed closely by Epicenter at 7-2 from third. Start time for Saturday’s one-and-a-quarter mile race is 6:57 p.m. ET.

At last year’s edition of the Run for the Roses, Medina Spirit crossed the finish line first, which appears to have given trainer Bob Baffert a record seventh victory in the race and the jockey John Velazquez his fourth victory in the Derby. However, the horse tested positive for a banned substance on race day, and the Kentucky Horse Racing Commission stripped Medina Spirit of its Derby title in February. With Medina Spirit’s victory overturned, second-placed Mandaloun improved to first place.

Here are the morning line odds for the 2022 Kentucky Derby, in order of position (with trainer and jockey):

1. Mo Donegal (10-1)

Coach: Todd Plecher
Jockey: Irad Ortiz Jr.

2. Happy Jack (30-1)

Coach: Doug O’Neill
Jockey: Raphael Bejarano

3. Epicenter (7-2)

Coach: Steve Asmussen
Jockey: Joel Rosario

4. Summer is tomorrow (30-1)

Coach: Bhupat Seemar
Jockey: Mikael Barzalona

5. Happy smile (20-1)

Coach: Ken McPeek
Jockey: Corey Lanerie

6. Messier (8-1)

Coach: Tim Yakteen
Jockey: John Velasquez

7. Crown Pride (20-1)

Coach: Kochi Shintani
Jockey: Christophe Lemaire

8. Charge it (20-1)

Coach: Todd Plecher
Jockey: Luis Saez

9. Tiz the Bomb (30-1)

Coach: Ken McPeek
Jockey: Brian Hernandez Jr.

10. Zandon (3-1)

Coach: Chad Brown
Jockey: Flavien Prat

11. Pioneer of Medina (30-1)

Coach: Todd Plecher
Jockey: Joe Bravo

12. Taiba (12-1)

Coach: Tim Yakteen
Jockey: mike smith

13. Simplify (20-1)

Coach: Antonio Sano
Jockey: Jose Ortiz

14. Barber Road (30-1)

Coach: John Ortiz
Jockey: Reylu Gutierrez

15. White Abarrio (10-1)

Coach: Saffie Joseph Jr.
Jockey: Tyler Gaffalione

16. Cyberknife (20-1)

Coach: Brad Cox
Jockey: Florent Geroux

17. Classic Pavement (30-1)

Coach: Brian Lynch
Jockey: Julien Laparoux

18. Porto Tawny (30-1)

Coach: Brad Cox
Jockey: Ricardo Santana Jr.

19. Zozos (20-1)

Coach: Brad Cox
Jockey: Manny Franco

20. Ethereal Road (30-1)

Coach: D. Wayne Lukas
Jockey: Luis Contreras

Also eligible

If any of the top 20 are withdrawn after entries have been taken but before betting has commenced, the next ranked horse on the equally eligible list will be eligible to run.

21. Rich Strike (30-1)

Coach: Eric Rose
Jockey: Sonny Leon

22. Rattle N’ Roll (30-1)

Coach: Ken McPeek
Jockey: James Graham